à propos du Groupe de travail

Membres du groupe de travail

Notes biographiques

Donald A. Stewart

Chef de la direction
Financière Sun Life inc.

Donald A. Stewart est chef de la direction de la Financière Sun Life inc.

Originaire d’écosse, M. Stewart est entré au service de la Sun Life du Canada, compagnie d’assurance-vie à Londres, en Angleterre, en 1969. Il a émigré à Montréal en 1972.

En 1974, M. Stewart quitte la Compagnie pour entreprendre une carrière dans le domaine du conseil en avantages sociaux à Toronto. Il revient à la Financière Sun Life en 1980 pour y diriger la Division canadienne des régimes collectifs de retraite. De 1987 à 1992, il assume la responsabilité globale des Technologies de l’information. En septembre 1992, il est nommé à la tête de la Compagnie de fiducie Sun Life. En 1996, il accède au poste de président et chef de l’exploitation puis, en 1998, au poste de chef de la direction de la Compagnie.

M. Stewart est membre du conseil d’administration de l’American Council of Life Insurers, de l’Association canadienne des compagnies d’assurances de personnes et de la compagnie internationale de produits d’aluminium Novelis Inc. Il est membre du conseil d’administration de l’Association de Genève, groupe de réflexion et institution de recherche de niveau international en matière d’assurance.

Né en 1946, M. Stewart a fait ses études à l’Université de Glasgow où il a obtenu, en 1968, un dipl?me en sciences physiques avec mention très bien.

L. Jacques Menard, O.C.

L. Jacques Ménard est président du conseil d’administration de BMO Nesbitt Burns, l’une des plus importantes sociétés de valeurs mobilières au Canada. Il est également président de BMO Groupe financier, Québec. à ce titre, il chapeaute les activités de BMO Banque de Montréal et de ses filiales qui comptent quelque 170 succursales et 5 000 employés.

M. Ménard est présentement administrateur de Claridge Inc., de l’Institut de cardiologie de Montréal, de l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal et des Alouettes de Montréal. Il est également membre du comité consultatif de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés (Section du Québec) et membre associé du conseil d’administration des Réseaux canadiens de recherches en politiques publiques inc., en plus de siéger au Conseil consultatif international de l’école des HEC, au Conseil consultatif de l’école des affaires publiques Glendon de l’Université York et au conseil d’administration de la Fondation Macdonald Stewart.

M. Ménard a par ailleurs présidé le Comité de travail sur le financement et la pérennité du système de santé et de services sociaux du Québec, mis sur pied par le Gouvernement du Québec en décembre 2004. Il a publié en 2008 un premier livre intitulé Si on s’y mettait… , dans lequel il propose dix grands chantiers assortis de propositions d’actions concrètes pour relancer le Québec. Dans la foule de ce livre, il a créé le Groupe d’action sur la persévérance et la réussite scolaires, composé de 28 membres en provenance de ministères du gouvernement du Québec, du milieu des affaires et d’organismes oeuvrant dans des domaines reliés à la persévérance scolaire. Le Groupe a dévoilé son plan d’action en mars 2009.

En 2009, M. Ménard a été un des quatre récipiendaires des prix d’honneur annuels du Forum des politiques publiques.

M. Ménard est dipl?mé de l’Université Western Ontario (MBA 1970), du Collège Loyola (1967) et du Collège Sainte-Marie (1966).

Il est Officier de l’Ordre du Canada.

Laurie Campbell

Laurie Campbell est directrice exécutive de Credit Canada / Credit Counselling Service of Toronto.

Mme Campbell a occupé des r?les graduellement avec responsabilités croissantes au sein de Credit Canada depuis son arrivée en 1990; elle est devenue membre de l’équipe de la haute direction en 1993 à titre de directrice de programme. Ses responsabilités ont englobé notamment la gestion du département d’éducation de l’organisme, qui offre des séminaires sur la gestion de l’argent et sur des questions relatives au crédit; plus de 10 000 personnes prennent part à ces séminaires chaque année.

Mme Campbell est présidente de la Credit Association of Greater Toronto. Elle est une source d’information éminemment fiable sur les services de conseil en matière de crédit et est hautement reconnue dans ce domaine par les médias, auxquels elle répond quotidiennement aux demandes de renseignements. Elle a donné des entrevues pour plusieurs ouvrages de premier plan dans le domaine des finances et a procédé à des revues de la littérature financière pour des organisations comme MasterCard Canada, Visa Canada, l’Investment Funds Institute et l’Investor Education Fund. Elle a aussi fait partie du comité consultatif établi pour l’émission de télévision Maxed Out. Elle a joué un r?le important à l’appui de la semaine canadienne de l’information sur le crédit; cette initiative, qui en est à sa troisième année, a recours à différents outils afin de promouvoir une meilleure connaissance du domaine financier dans l’ensemble du pays.

Mme Campbell a fait partie du conseil d’administration de l’Ontario Association of Credit Counselling Services et de la Canadian Association of Credit Counselling Services, service de bienfaisance communautaire à but non lucratif qui aide les consommateurs en fournissant de l’information sur le crédit, des services de conseil sur l’établissement d’un budget et des programmes d’élimination ordonnée des dettes. Elle fait également partie de différents comités, dont le Financial Literacy Committee de Centraide, le Habitat for Humanity Selection Committee et le Council for Investor Education.

Mme Campbell est dipl?mée de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Marcel C?té

Marcel C?té est associé fondateur de SECOR Conseil. Durant sa carrière de près de 30 ans en consultation, il s’est spécialisé en conseil stratégique auprès de la haute direction d’entreprises autant au Canada qu’en France.

M. C?té est titulaire d’un MSc en économie de Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh, PA) et Fellow du Center for International Affairs de Harvard University. Il a enseigné à l’Université de Sherbrooke et à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, avant de fonder SECOR en 1975. De nos jours, M. C?té agit surtout à titre de conseiller à la haute direction de grandes entreprises sur des enjeux stratégiques autant au Canada qu’en Europe

M. C?té est également reconnu comme expert en politique de croissance économique, un sujet sur lequel il a écrit plusieurs livres. Au cours de sa carrière, M. C?té a enfin agi comme conseiller au gouvernement. De 1986 à 1988, il a ?uvré comme conseiller économique auprès du premier ministre du Québec. En 1989 et 1990, il était directeur de la planification stratégique et des communications au bureau du premier ministre du Canada.

Il est administrateur de Intact Assurance et Empire Ltée. Il est aussi actif à Montréal sur le plan communautaire, en particulier à la Fondation du Grand Montréal et à la compagnie de danse Marie Chouinard, dont il préside les conseils d’administration, et à l’Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal et au YMCA.

Patrick C. Foran

Patrick C. Foran est un auteur et un journaliste primé qui fait partie de l’équipe de CTV News depuis 23 ans. Il anime Consumer Alert, une rubrique populaire consacrée à la protection des consommateurs, diffusée en soirée durant l’émission CTV News à Toronto. Il présente aussi des reportages sur la consommation lors de l’émission nationale de CTV diffusée en matinée, Canada AM.

Grace à ses travaux d’enquête et d’information, M. Foran a aidé des consommateurs à recouvrer des centaines de milliers de dollars; il a mis à jour des fraudes, lancé des avertissements au sujet de produits peu s?rs et offert au public une multitude de conseils pour économiser de l’argent. Les milliers d’appels téléphoniques, de courriels et de lettres qu’il re?oit du public lui confirment qu’il existe une très forte demande pour de l’information fiable et fondée en matière de consommation. M. Foran fait la promotion d’une meilleure éducation financière pour les jeunes Canadiens, afin que ceux?ci soient plus à même d’économiser et d’éviter de s’endetter.

M. Foran est l’auteur de Canadian Consumer Alert - 101 Ways to Protect Yourself and Your Money, de The Smart Canadian's Guide to Building Wealth et de The Smart Canadian’s Guide to Saving Money.

Edward Gordon

Edward Gordon est conseiller en sécurité financière à la Financière Liberté 55 à Ottawa depuis 2007. Auparavant, il avait mis sur pied le Fiscal Fitness Centre, entreprise de conseil sur le patrimoine des particuliers.

M. Gordon est professeur à la School of Part-Time Studies du Collège Algonquin, où il enseigne un cours d’intérêt général non-crédité ? Personal Financial Literacy ?, qui repose sur un programme qu’il a lui?même élaboré.

M. Gordon est membre de l’Institut des comptables agréés de l’Ontario et de l’Institut canadien des comptables agréés.

Il a obtenu un baccalauréat avec spécialisation en administration des affaires de l’Université Western Ontario.

Evelyn Jacks

Evelyn Jacks est la fondatrice et la présidente du Knowledge Bureau, une importante institution nationale d’éducation et une maison d’édition dédiée à fournir un perfectionnement professionnel continu aux conseillers financiers et fiscaux.

Mme Jacks est connue par des millions de contribuables canadiens comme une auteure à succès de 45 livres portant sur l’imp?t sur le revenu des particuliers et la planification financière. De plus, le Knowledge Bureau a récemment publié six livres dans la nouvelle collection Master Your Personal Finances, sous sa direction, dont l’objet est de favoriser des relations plus efficaces entre les conseillers financiers et leurs clients.

Mme Jacks a re?u de nombreuses distinctions en reconnaissance de sa contribution à l’excellence de l’éducation financière, notamment le titre de femme d’affaires de l’année du YM-YWCA et le prestigieux titre d’entrepreneur canadien de l’année. Elle a aussi re?u le Prix du leadership dans le domaine de l’entrepreneuriat de l’ambassade du Canada à Washington, D.C.

En plus de sa nomination au Groupe de travail sur la littératie financière, Mme Jacks avait précédemment été nommée membre de la Commission d’étude de la réduction des imp?ts par le premier ministre du Manitoba. Cette commission a fourni des recommandations pour l’élaboration d’un nouveau régime d’imp?ts provincial.

Mme Jacks a été membre du conseil des gouverneurs du Manitoba Club, membre du cabinet de Centraide, membre du Board of Associates de l’Université du Manitoba, cadre de la Chambre de commerce de Winnipeg et a siégé au conseil d’administration de nombreuses autres organisations privées et publiques.

Ruth Kelly

Ruth Kelly est présidente et chef de la direction de Venture Publishing Inc., de même qu’éditrice et rédactrice en chef d’Alberta Venture, le seul magazine d’affaires albertain diffusé dans l’ensemble de la province.

Mme Kelly a été présidente du conseil d’administration de la Chambre de commerce d’Edmonton en 2005 et a été présidente de l’Alberta Magazine Publishers Association. Elle fait actuellement partie des conseils bénévoles de l’Institut des administrateurs de sociétés (section d’Edmonton) et du Banff Centre Leadership Program, de même que du conseil consultatif du président du Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (NAIT), de l’Alberta Branding Committee et du comité d’Expo 2017 d’Edmonton. Elle est présidente de l’Edmonton Business Council for the Visual Arts et siège au conseil d’administration de la société d’état Travel Alberta et de la société Dollco Printing.

Mme Kelly a re?u le titre de ? Global Woman of Vision ? en 1998 et celui de ? Femme de distinction ? décerné par le YWCA en 2003 dans la catégorie Entrepreneures. Elle a également re?u le ? Fellowship Award ? de l’Advertising Club of Edmonton en 2004 pour son apport à l’industrie et à la collectivité. En 2005, elle a été choisie titulaire de l’Allard Chair of Business par la MacEwan School of Business, et elle a re?u la Médaille du centenaire pour services rendus à l’Alberta. L’Association canadienne des femmes en communications lui a donné le titre de Femme de l’année en 2008, ce qui a fait d’elle la première Albertaine à recevoir ce prix national. Elle a aussi re?u un grade honorifique en administration des affaires du NAIT en 2008.

Janice MacKinnon

Janice MacKinnon est professeure en politique budgétaire à l’Université de la Saskatchewan, fellow de la Société royale du Canada, présidente de l’Institut de recherche en politiques publiques et membre du conseil d’administration de la Canada West Foundation.

De 1991 à 2001, Mme MacKinnon a été ministre du gouvernement de la Saskatchewan. Elle était ministre des Finances en pleine crise du déficit et de la dette publique, où la Saskatchewan est devenue la première administration canadienne à rétablir l’équilibre budgétaire dans les années 1990. Elle a aussi été ministre des Services sociaux, ministre de l’économie et du Développement coopératif, ministre chargée du commerce, de la recherche et des investissements ainsi que leader parlementaire.

Mme MacKinnon fait partie du conseil d’administration de divers organismes publics et privés, et elle collabore fréquemment aux débats politiques nationaux. Elle a rédigé trois livres, dont le plus récent s’intitule The Fiscal Crisis, Political Trade-offs and Canada’s Future.

P. Mitchell Murphy

P. Mitchell Murphy est un conseiller pédagogique de carrière à la Western School Board de l’?le?du?Prince?édouard.

Né dans cette province, M. Murphy s’est vu confier différents portefeuilles au sein du gouvernement provincial : il a ainsi été ministre des Affaires communautaires et procureur général (1996 à 1998), ministre de la Technologie et de l’Environnement (1998 à 2000), ministre de l’Agriculture (2000 à 2003) et trésorier provincial (2003 à 2007).

Né en 1962, M. Murphy a obtenu deux dipl?mes de premier cycle de l‘Université de l’?le?du?Prince?édouard et un dipl?me d’études supérieures en éducation de l’Université St. Mary's.

Greg Pollock

Greg Pollock est président et chef de la direction d’Advocis, The Financial Advisors Association of Canada.

Avant de joindre les rangs d’Advocis, en 2008, M. Pollock a été, de 2001 à 2008, secrétaire de l’Association des enseignantes et des enseignants catholiques anglo?ontariens, qui compte 43 000 membres.

Il a siégé au conseil d’administration de la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants ainsi que de la Fédération des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario, laquelle parraine conjointement le Régime de retraite des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario, dont les actifs nets se chiffraient alors à 108,1 milliards de dollars. M. Pollock a aussi fait partie du comité des finances et de la vérification du Régime d’assurance des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario pendant plus de 10 ans.

M. Pollock détient une ma?trise en droit de l’Osgoode Hall Law School de l’Université York ainsi qu’une ma?trise en administration de l’enseignement de l’Université de Toronto.

Bill Schwartz

Bill Schwartz est l’un des directeurs de Polestar Communications Inc., entreprise de professionnels qualifiés dans le domaine de l’enseignement.

La firme Polestar a con?u et préparé des plans de le?on et des activités pour le cours de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de la Colombie?Britannique intitulé The City: Financial Life Skills for Planning 10, à l’intention des personnes qui enseignent la composante financière du programme des ressources intégrées (? Integrated Resource Package ?) du ministère de l’éducation de la Colombie?Britannique.

Polestar a aussi adapté le cours de la Commission des valeurs mobilières de la Colombie?Britannique à l’intention des services interactifs Web de l’Agence de la consommation en matière financière du Canada visant les jeunes Canadiens. L’an dernier, Polestar a examiné les cours des ministères de l’éducation de l’ensemble des provinces et des territoires au niveau secondaire afin de déterminer lesquels comportaient des volets axés sur les connaissances financières de base, de manière à s’assurer que le nouvel outil en ligne corresponde aux résultats pédagogiques visés en la matière dans chaque province et chaque territoire.

Jean Vincent

Depuis près de 17 ans, M. Jean Vincent agit à titre de président-directeur général de Société de crédit commercial autochtone (? SOCCA ?), une organisation dont le mandat est de consentir du financement commercial pour le démarrage ou l’expansion d’entreprises à contr?le majoritairement autochtone, laquelle joue un r?le de premier plan dans le développement économique des Premières Nations du Québec.

Il est également directeur exécutif de Investissement Premières Nations du Québec, s.e.c. depuis quelques années. Il a assumé ce poste après avoir été président du conseil d’administration de INPQ à partir de sa création.

Finalement, il est également Vice Grand Chef pour la Nation Huronne-Wendat, une Première Nation située à proximité de la ville de Québec.

Jean Vincent est détenteur d’une Licence en sciences comptables et d’un Baccalauréat en administration des affaires (B.A.A.) (Option Comptabilité) de l’Université Laval (Québec), et est détenteur des titres de comptable agréé (C.A.), de comptable général licencié (C.G.A.) et de gestionnaire financier autochtone certifié (G.F.A.C.).

Il siège également au sein de divers conseils d’administration dont, entre autres, le Régime des Bénéfices Autochtone, en tant que président, et Groupe Promutuel.

About the Task Force

Task Force Members

Biographical Notes

Donald A. Stewart

Chief Executive Officer
Sun Life Financial Inc.

Donald A. Stewart is Chief Executive Officer of Sun Life Financial Inc.

A native of Scotland, Mr. Stewart joined the Sun Life Assurance Company of Canada in London, England in 1969. He emigrated to Montreal in 1972.

In 1974, Mr. Stewart left the Company to pursue a career in benefits consulting in Toronto. He returned in 1980 to lead the Canadian Group Retirement Services Division. From 1987 to 1992, Mr. Stewart held overall responsibility for Information Technology. He was appointed head of Sun Life Trust Company in September 1992. In 1996 he was appointed President & Chief Operating Officer, and in 1998 Chief Executive Officer.

Mr. Stewart is a director of the American Council of Life Insurers, the Canadian Life and Health Insurance Association, and international aluminum products company Novelis Inc. He is a member of the Board for The Geneva Association, an international insurance think tank and research institution.

Born in 1946, Mr. Stewart holds a degree in Natural Philosophy from the University of Glasgow, graduating in 1968 with first class honours.

L. Jacques Menard, O.C.

Vice Chair

L. Jacques Ménard is Chairman of BMO Nesbitt Burns, one of the country’s leading investment firms. He is also President of BMO Financial Group, Quebec. As such, he oversees the activities of BMO Bank of Montreal and its subsidiaries, and its more than 170 branches and 5,000 employees in Quebec.

Mr. Ménard is currently a director at the Montreal Heart Institute, the Montreal Symphony Orchestra, the Montreal Alouettes, and a Director at Claridge Inc. He is also a member of the Advisory Board of the Institute of Corporate Directors (Quebec chapter) and a Board Associate of Canadian Policy Research Networks Inc., and sits on the International Advisory Board of HEC Montréal, the Advisory Board of Glendon College at York University and the Board of Directors of the Macdonald Stewart Foundation.

Mr. Ménard chaired the Task Force on the Sustainability of the Québec Health Care and Social Services System, established by the Quebec Government in December 2004 to identify the funding needs for health and social services in Quebec in the coming years and decades and to propose appropriate measures.

He published a first book in 2008, Si on s’y mettait… that outlines a series of proposals to ensure Quebec’s future growth. In the wake of this book, he established the Groupe d’action sur la persévérance et la réussite scolaires, comprised of 28 representatives from various fields, all of whom are mobilized by the pressing need for action on the issue of student retention in Quebec. The Groupe’s action plan was released in March 2009.

Mr. Ménard is one of the four recipients of the annual Public Policy Forum Testimonial Awards in 2009.

Mr. Ménard is a graduate of the University of Western Ontario (M.B.A. 1970), Loyola College of Montréal (B. Comm. Hon. Econ. 1967) and College Ste-Marie (B.A. 1966).

He is an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Laurie Campbell

Laurie Campbell is the Executive Director of Credit Canada/the Credit Counselling Service of Toronto.

Since joining Credit Canada in 1990, Ms. Campbell has assumed progressively more important roles within the organization, becoming part of its senior leadership team as Program Manager in 1993. Her responsibilities have notably included management in the agency's education department, which presents seminars on money management and credit-related issues to over 10,000 people annually.

Ms. Campbell is President of the Credit Association of Greater Toronto, is recognized as a primary source of accurate information on credit counselling for the media, and is widely recognized as an expert in her field responding daily to media requests. She has been interviewed for several prominent books on finance and has reviewed financial literature for organizations such as MasterCard Canada, Visa Canada, the Investment Funds Institute and the Investor Education Fund, and was on the Advisory Committee for the television show Maxed Out. Ms. Campbell was instrumental in spearheading Credit Education Week Canada, which now in its third year promotes financial literacy through a variety of mediums throughout Canada.

Ms. Campbell served on the Board of the Ontario Association of Credit Counselling Services and the Canadian Association of Credit Counselling Services, a not-for-profit charitable community service that helps consumers by providing credit education, counselling on budgeting, and planned debt liquidation programs. Ms. Campbell sits on various committees including the Financial Literacy Committee of the United Way, Habitat for Humanity Selection Committee and the Council for Investor Education.

Ms. Campbell is a graduate of the University of Ottawa.

Marcel Côté

Marcel Côté is a founding partner of SECOR Consulting. Over his 30-year career as a consultant, he has specialized in strategy consulting for senior management both in Canada and in France.

Mr. Côté holds an MSc in Economics from Carnegie Mellon University (Pittsburgh, PA) and is a Fellow of the Center for International Affairs, Harvard University. He taught at the Université de Sherbrooke and the Université du Québec à Montréal, before co-founding SECOR in 1975. Today Mr. Côté advises top-management teams of large corporations on strategic issues both in Canada and in Europe.

Mr. Côté is also known as an expert on economic-growth policies, a subject on which he has written several books. Finally, over the course of his career Mr. Côté has advised both levels of government: from 1986 to 1988, he was economic advisor to the prime minister of Quebec; in 1989 and 1990, he was Director of Strategic planning and communications in the Prime Minister’s Office in Ottawa.

He sits on the Board of Directors of Intact Insurance and Empire Ltd., and is also very active in Montreal community organizations, particularly in the Foundation of Greater Montreal and the Compagnie de danse Marie Chouinard, where he chairs the Boards of Directors as well as with the YMCA and the Montreal Symphony Orchestra.

Pat Foran

Patrick C. Foran is an award-winning journalist and author who has been a reporter with CTV News for the past 23 years. He hosts CONSUMER ALERT, a popular nightly consumer advocacy segment on CTV News in Toronto and is also the consumer reporter for CTV’s national morning show, Canada AM.

As a result of his investigative and educational efforts, Mr. Foran has helped consumers recover hundreds of thousands of dollars, exposed scams, warned about unsafe products and passed on countless money saving tips to the public. The thousands of phone calls, e-mails and letters that he has received in response from the public confirm to him that there is an intense thirst for solid, trustworthy consumer information. Mr. Foran has been an advocate for improved financial literacy for younger Canadians to better prepare them to be able to save money and avoid debt.

Mr. Foran is the author of "Canadian Consumer Alert - 101 Ways to Protect Yourself and Your Money", "The Smart Canadian's Guide to Building Wealth" and "The Smart Canadian’s Guide to Saving Money.".

Edward (Ted) Gordon

Ted Gordon has been a Financial Security Advisor with Freedom 55 Financial in Ottawa since 2007. Prior to this, he had established the Fiscal Fitness Centre, a personal Wealth Advisory business.

He is a Professor in the School of Part-Time Studies at Algonquin College where he teaches a non-credit, personal interest course called ‘Personal Financial Literacy’ based on his own exclusively developed curriculum.

Mr. Gordon is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Ontario and the Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants.

He graduated from the University of Western Ontario with an Honours BA in Business Administration.

Evelyn Jacks

Evelyn Jacks is the founder and president of Knowledge Bureau, a leading national educational institute and publisher focused on providing continuing professional development for practicing tax and financial advisors.

Ms. Jacks is a well known by millions of taxpayers in Canada as a best-selling author of 45 books on the subject of personal tax and financial planning. In addition, Knowledge Bureau has recently published six books in the new Master Your Personal Finances series under her direction, to enable more effective relationships between financial advisors and their clients.

Ms. Jacks has received numerous distinguished awards in recognition of her contributions to excellence in financial education, including the YM-YWCA’s Business Woman of the Year and the prestigious National Canadian Woman Entrepreneur of the Year. She has also been recognized with a Business Leadership Award by the Canadian Embassy in Washington, D.C.

In addition to her appointment to the Task Force on Financial Literacy, Ms. Jacks was previously appointed by the Premier of Manitoba as a Commissioner on the Lower Tax Commission, which provided recommendations for a new provincial tax regime.

Ms. Jacks has served as a Governor of the Manitoba Club, a Cabinet Member on the United Way, a member on the Board of Associates at the University of Manitoba, an Executive of the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce, and on the boards of numerous other private and public organizations.

Ruth Kelly

Ruth Kelly is the president and CEO of Venture Publishing Inc., and the publisher and editor-in-chief of Alberta Venture, Alberta’s only province-wide business magazine.

Ms. Kelly served as the 2005 chair of the board of directors for the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce and is a past president of the Alberta Magazine Publishers Association. She currently serves on the volunteer boards of the Institute of Corporate Directors (Edmonton chapter) and the Banff Centre Leadership program, as well as on the President’s Advisory Council for the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (NAIT), the Alberta Branding committee and the Edmonton Expo 2017 board. She is also president of the Edmonton Business Council for the Visual Arts, and is on the board of directors for crown corporation Travel Alberta and private company Dollco Printing.

Ms. Kelly was recognized as a Global Woman of Vision in 1998, a YWCA Woman of Distinction in the Entrepreneur category in 2003 and received the Advertising Club of Edmonton’s 2004 Fellowship Award for contributions to the industry and the community. In 2005, she was selected as the Allard Chair of Business by the MacEwan School of Business and received a Centennial Medal for service to the province of Alberta. The Canadian Women in Communications selected Ms. Kelly for their 2008 Woman of the Year award, making her the first Albertan to receive this national honour. She also received an honorary degree in business from NAIT in 2008.

Janice MacKinnon

Janice MacKinnon is a Professor of Fiscal Policy at the University of Saskatchewan, a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, Chair of the Research Institute on Public Policy, and member of the Board of the Canada West Foundation.

From 1991 to 2001, Ms. MacKinnon was a Cabinet Minister in the Saskatchewan Government. She served as Finance Minister during the province’s deficit/debt crisis, when Saskatchewan became the first government in Canada to balance its budget in the l990s. Other portfolios that she held include Minister of Social Services, Minister of Economic and Co-operative Development, Minister Responsible for Trade, Research and Investment and Government House Leader.

Ms. MacKinnon sits on various private and public-private boards, and is a frequent contributor to public policy debates at the national level. She has authored three books, including her most recent, The Fiscal Crisis, Political Trade-offs and Canada’s Future.

P. Mitchell Murphy

Mitch Murphy is a career education consultant with the Western School Board in Prince Edward Island.

A native Islander, Mr. Murphy entered public life to serve in the PEI cabinet in a number of portfolios, including Minister of Community Affairs and Attorney General (1996-1998), Minister of Technology and Environment (1998-2000), Minister of Agriculture (2000-2003), and Provincial Treasurer (2003-2007).

Born in 1962, Mr. Murphy holds two undergraduate degrees from the University of Prince Edward Island and a graduate degree in education from St. Mary's University.

Greg Pollock

Greg Pollock is the President and CEO of Advocis, The Financial Advisors Association of Canada.

Prior to joining Advocis in 2008, Mr. Pollock was General Secretary of the 43,000 member Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association from 2001-2008.

He has served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Teachers' Federation and of the Ontario Teachers' Federation, which is a co-sponsor of the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan which at the time had net assets of $108 billion. Mr. Pollock was also on the Board of the Ontario Teachers' Insurance Plan, where he served as a member of the Finance and Audit Committee for 10 years.

Mr. Pollock has a Master of Laws degree from Osgoode Hall Law School at York University and a Master of Educational Administration from the University of Toronto.

Bill Schwartz

Bill Schwartz is a principal of Polestar Communications Inc., a firm of professionally qualified educational specialists.

Polestar developed and wrote lesson plans and activities for the British Columbia Securities Commission resource, The City: Financial Life Skills for Planning 10, a resource for educators teaching the financial component of the BC Ministry of Education’s Integrated Resource Package.

Polestar also adapted the BCSC resource for the Federal Consumer Agency of Canada’s interactive web-based resource aimed at Canadian youth. Last year Polestar examined all of the provinces and territories’ Ministry of Education Courses at the high school level to determine which had a curriculum connection to financial life skills to ensure that the new on-line tool meets the learning outcomes related to financial literacy in every province and territory.

Jean Vincent

For the past 17 years, Mr. Jean Vincent has been the President and General Manager of the Native Commercial Credit Corporation (NACCC), an Aboriginal financial institution that plays a leading role in the economic development of many First Nations in Quebec. NACCC provides commercial financing to Aboriginal-controlled businesses in the start-up or expansion phase.

Mr. Vincent is also the Executive Director of the First Nations Venture Capital of Quebec. He became Executive Director in 2004 after having acted as Chairman of the Board of Directors since the creation of the venture capital corporation.

Finally, he is Vice Grand Chief of the Huron-Wendat Nation, a first nation living nearby Quebec City.

Jean Vincent holds a Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration and a degree in accounting from Laval University (Québec City). He is also a Chartered Accountant (CA), Certified General Accountant (CGA) and Certified Aboriginal Financial Manager (CAFM).

Mr. Vincent sits on a number of Boards of Directors, including the Native Benefits Plan as Chairman and Groupe Promutuel.